seven deadly sins

i came across this cool series of drawings while browsing deviantART showing the seven deadly sins of humans – pride, avarice, envy, wrath, lust, gluttony, and sloth.

google for them and read them up, and see how many of these sins do u have? haha

i think i have them all, too.

Vanity, also known as pride, is the mother of all sins, which is the source of all other sins. They see and care about nothing else, but themselves only.


Gluttony is the inordinate desire to consume more than what one requires. This may not mean only food or drinks, as it may symbolize excessive indulgence in consumer goods, etc.


Avarice, greed or covetousness, is similar to lust and gluttony, which relates to abundance or excessiveness. This may not mean only the acquisition of wealth and power, but the indulgence of material goods too.


Sloth may merely mean the avoidance of physical or spiritual work. however, this historically meant a sin of sadness or despair, as this reflects an unwillingness of rejoicing during the early days of Christianity.


Wrath refers to the inordinate and uncontrolled anger or hatred. Alternatively, it is the impatience with authority or feeling of vengeance.


Envy or jealousy is the desire for another’s traits, status, ability, situation or possessions. Similar to avarice, it is a sin of insatiable desire, but of a non-material nature as it is typically psychological.


Lust is usually the obsessive/excessive desires and thoughts of sex, however it may mean the excessive love for one or oneself. Simply, it can also mean an indulgence in the self-fulfillment of physical pleasure.



blackeri’s deviantART gallery – Deadly Sins


9 responses to “seven deadly sins

  1. Pingback: save the polar bear, save the world « psychedelico’s temperament

  2. diaz gita Monday, 7th September 2009 at 8:45

    siet…..i have the pride….
    thats why i love purple so much…..

  3. Anonymous Thursday, 10th December 2009 at 10:35

    I guess then my desire to the “RED” colour comes with the high “WRATH” and “LUST” I have inside me…

  4. Ira Friday, 11th December 2009 at 6:43

    I hate them all… well except maybe Wrath.. Wrath is the best.. the hell will the rest of you! I hate.. you all. Funny thing is.. I love the colour green but I’m not envious.

  5. BeautyKiller Friday, 8th January 2010 at 9:10

    i love these paintings im vanity out of all of them im vanity,envy,avarice and gluttony

  6. olivejuice Wednesday, 31st March 2010 at 11:00

    Wrath. Actually I fit in all of them. Wow

  7. MARY ANNA Monday, 5th April 2010 at 16:04


  8. vinxhane Monday, 26th April 2010 at 15:17

    ……0h GOD….

  9. Anonymous Friday, 7th May 2010 at 3:32

    Beautiful renditions

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: